
 
 

Unemployment Compensation Provisions in the CARES Act 

The CARES Act, passed on March 27, 2020, significantly expanded unemployment insurance to 

help those who have lost their job due to COVID-19. The most recent coronavirus relief package, 

which was enacted on December 24, 2020, extends this relief through early 2021.  

Supplemental Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) – This provides up to 

an additional $300 a week for any worker eligible for state or federal unemployment compensation. 

 

• Supplemental benefits will run from December 26, 2020, through March 14, 2021.  

• The FPUC will not affect eligibility for Medicaid, the Children’s Health Insurance Program 

(CHIP) or the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP).  

 

Pandemic Unemployment Assistance – The Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) program 

provides unemployment benefits to self-employed individuals, independent contractors, “gig 

workers” and individuals who were unable to start a new job or contract due to the pandemic.  

 

• The new coronavirus relief package extends PUA to March 14, 2021 and allows 

individuals receiving benefits as of March 14, 2021 to continue through April 5, 2021 (as 

long as the individual has not reached the maximum number of weeks).  

• The package also increases the number of weeks of benefits an individual may claim from 

39 to 50.  

• States now have the authority to waive PUA overpayments made without fault on the part 

of the individual or when such repayment would violate equity and good conscience.  

• Individuals who are covered by the expanded unemployment compensation eligibility 

provisions, like the self-employed, independent contractors and gig workers, will also 

receive the additional $300 per week FPUC payment.  

 

11 Additional Weeks of Emergency Unemployment Compensation – The new coronavirus relief 

package includes a provision to provide an additional 11 weeks of unemployment benefits to 

workers who need beyond what is provided for in state and federal law. This builds on the 

additional 13 weeks provided in the CARES Act and will allow Illinoisans to receive 

unemployment compensation for up to 50 weeks.  

  



 
 

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions 

 

How do I file an unemployment compensation claim?  

Unemployment compensation claims can be filed through the Illinois Department of Employment 

Security (IDES). The link to file a claim can be found here. If you are having trouble filling out 

your online claim, please call IDES at (800) 244-5631.  

 

Due to increased demand, the website may be slow to load, and the phone lines may be busy. Keep 

trying. The Illinois Department of Employment Security (IDES) is continuing to build out capacity 

at their call centers to meet the increased demand. 

 

How about tipped workers?  

Tipped workers who qualify for unemployment compensation will all receive the Federal 

Pandemic Unemployment Compensation. Unemployed workers who do not have enough reported 

income to qualify for state unemployment compensation but are able and available to work if it 

weren’t for COVID-19 may be eligible for a smaller federal payment. 

 

Can workers get unemployment compensation at the same time as they receive employer-

provided paid leave?  

No, workers who are receiving paid leave are not eligible for unemployment compensation. 

https://www2.illinois.gov/ides/aboutides/Pages/10%20Things%20You%20Should%20Know.aspx

