Barb Byers - Monmouth, IL - 10/02/2017

“Western Illinois Home Health Care contacted the Office of Congresswoman Cheri Bustos on August 16, 2017 to express concern with the trouble of collecting a payment dated April 10, 2017 in the amount of $29,159.42 from Health Net Federal Services, LLC. Western Illinois Home Health Care had made contact with Health Net Federal Services several times with the promise that they would re-issue the check. After multiple attempts were made to collect the payment, Western reached out to Congresswoman Bustos for assistance. Within a couple of days requesting assistance we received a call from a constituent advocate who confirmed that Congresswoman Bustos’ office would be happy to help”

“The response from Congresswoman Bustos’ office was quick and effective. We received the payment via electronic transfer 6 days after reaching out to Congresswoman Bustos. Western Illinois Home Health Care is extremely grateful for the assistance that was provided by her office. Congresswoman Bustos’ dedication to veterans is remarkable.”

Barb Byers, Monmouth

President, CEO

Western Illinois Home Health Care

Steven R. Carlson - Moline, IL - 09/18/2017

“First of all, I’d like to thank you and your office for the successful attempt to help me in acquiring the Military awards that were not included on my records after I was discharged from the Navy in December 1972.”

“When I found information on the internet in 2015 during my recuperation from triple bi-pass surgery, that I should have been awarded additional ribbons and medals while serving as an Oceans System Technician, I never dreamed that I may actually have them added to my military records after 45 years, but I was determined to find out.”

“In 2016 my first attempt to have my records updated, I went to the VA office that was once located in Moline in late April. Forms were filled out and sent to the National Personnel Records Center in St. Louis to get copies of my records and see if it was  possible that they would find additional information that would indicate that indeed I had earned more awards. After almost 7 months I received a letter and copies of my service records and was told no other ribbons or medals were earned other than the National Defense Medal and (1) Meritorious Unit Commendation that was on my DD215. Looking back, I should have included that information I had found on the internet but I did not. I knew the documentation I had, from Navy sources, indicated I had earned additional ribbons and medals, including additional Meritorious Unit Commendations, a Navy Unit Commendation, and Navy Good Conduct ribbon/medal and after talking with, and emailing various agencies and getting nowhere, I was given the advice to contact my local congressman, which turned out to be Congresswoman Cheri Bustos.”

“After contacting her office and making copies of all the documentation that I obtained on the internet including my service records, within a month or so, her office contacted me and whether or not her office was my last resort, I received a copy of a DD215 Correction form from the National Personnel Records Center indicating I had indeed earned an additional Meritorious Unit Commendation, a Navy Unit Commendation, and a Navy Good Conduct award that has been added to my records.”

“Words can’t describe how relieved I am to know that now my military records are up to date.”

“This was a quest to update my military records that for some reason or another, were not, while on active duty, to include those awards to my records even though many years have passed and many had said that it could not be done…Cheri Bustos’ office provided otherwise.”

Steven Robert Carlson, Moline

Michael L. Miroux - Moline, IL - 08/26/2017

“Beginning in April 0f 2012, I began the task of obtaining my father’s military records while he enlisted in the Army. I initially contacted the National Personnel Records Center in St. Louis, Missouri, to determine if the records were available. The records needed to answer my inquiry were destroyed on July 12, 1973, by a fire that destroyed the major portion of records of Army military personnel.”

“Injured in combat on October 3, 1952 in North Korea, he was taken to the 24th Evac Hospital APO#234 to receive medical treatment. As a result of his injuries, medical records were discovered at the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). The VA provided a control number and reported that the medical records were doing everything possible to accommodate my request in a timely manner, which I understood would take some time to retrieve.”

“After a year had past, I wrote to the VA to determine the status of my request. I did not get a response. Subsequent years would yield negative responses from the VA.”

“In June of 2017, I contacted Representative Cheri Bustos for assistance in obtaining my father’s medical records in Kansas City. In July, I received a CD from the VA which contained my father’s medical records and a synopsis of his injuries he suffered on October 3, 1952. What was taking me years to accomplish, unsuccessful, took Representative Bustos less than a month to achieve a positive outcome.”

Michael L. Miroux, Moline

Sandra K. Hauer - Andalusia, IL - 10/17/2017

“I applied for disability in 2013 because of my severe COPD but kept getting denied. In 2016 I hired a lawyer then finally came to see Cheri Bustos and without her help I never would have had such a fast hearing. She is the best. I was approved and paid back since 2013. Thank you Cheri, you are a Godsend. Without you I would still be waiting.”

Sandra K. Hauer, Andalusia

John Richard Phillips - Rock Island, IL - 04/10/2017

“Great experience. I contacted Congresswoman Cheri Bustos’ office because I didn’t want my claim for S.S.D. to fall through the cracks. She cares about her country and its people. It’s hell to find out your body won’t let you work anymore. Her office is keeping me well informed of my claim. Thank you very much, God bless you.”

John R. Phillips, Rock Island

Polly Haskins - Port Byron, IL - 04/07/2017

“In January 2014, I was called up to active duty and was part of a Navy medical contingency deployed to Afghanistan in support of OEF. My employer, Unity Point Clinic, mistakenly paid my wages the entire time I was gone, unbeknownst to me. I brought it to their attention up on my return in November 2014, but was told everything was correct. In January 2015, I was informed, in fact, it was a mistake, and I would have to pay back my wages, claim the money on my tax return and be responsible for the taxes since it was their mistake. I did as I was told; repaid the wages, paid the taxes and my 401K contribution amount as claimed on my tax return. Over the past 2+ years, I have received numerous letters from the IRS stating they disagreed with the owed refund of over $20,000, despite numerous documentation from myself, the bank and the accountant. After several attempts to contact the IRS directly by my accountant, and much stress and frustration, I contacted Congresswoman Bustos’ office via the website in an attempt to ask for assistance in resolving this matter. Staff immediately contacted me by phone and provided the necessary paperwork to begin an inquiry on 2/6/17. After supplying additional copies of previously supplied documentation as requested by the IRS, I received a voicemail on 3/18/17 from Congresswoman Bustos, stating the issues had been resolved and to be expecting a refund check form the IRS. I then received the check on 3/28/17.”

“I truly appreciate both Congresswoman Bustos’ and her staff’s prompt attention, professionalism, and respect in response to my issue. As someone who has been mobilized twice, it has helped restore my trust in others, as it was badly shaken both by deployment and by how this was mishandled by a large corporation I have been employed by for 17 years. I am grateful for your help. Thank you.”

CDR Polly Haskins, NC, USN, Port Byron, IL

Matthew Moore - Mt. Carroll, IL - 02/08/2017

“I contacted the Office of Congresswoman Bustos because of a workers compensation claim. I was injured at work which required surgery. The surgery was approved but after the bill came, the Dept. of Labor denied the claim. After numerous attempts to resolve the issue through the Dept. of Labor and my place of employment, the surgery bill remained unpaid. After a year long fight, my personal insurance finally paid because they were going to send it to collections. My employer requires me to pay my bills. After contacting your office, this issue has finally been resolved. Thank you so much for helping me and caring about my issue.”

Matthew Moore, Mt. Carroll

Kenneth Scrivano - Rockford, IL - 06/26/2017

“For 3 years, someone has filed a false tax refund claim using my identity information. After multiple calls t the IRS that were unsuccessful in getting my Federal Tax Refund for 2015 and 2016, I finally contacted the Office of Cheri Bustos, my Congresswoman. The office person took all my information and copies of my tax forms, with my IRS correspondence, and contacted their federal tax advocate. Within 60 days my case was reviewed and I finally received my tax refund for 2015 and 2016. I had just about given up dealing with the IRS, spending hours on the phone. Without the help of Congresswoman Bustos and her staff, I truly believe my case would not have been resolved. I am forever indebted and want to express my heartfelt appreciation for resolving my dilemma.”

Kenneth Scrivano, Rockford

Mayor Leon Ricca - Bartonville, IL - 10/16/2017

“I don’t know what we would have done without the help of your office!!! We at the Village were literally at a loss when we realized the predicament that we were left in after our last bookkeeper was dismissed. We reached out to the IRS in June for help with abatement from penalties and interest charges due to our circumstances. But it wasn’t until your office got involved in August that we seemed to get the process moving. We contacted your office at the beginning of August and staff helped us file the correct forms and send them in to the correct department. Staff kept in contact with me during the process, updating me as it went along. Staff never made me feel as though it was a bother to help us or to update us! Your staff is an absolute blessing for your office as well as the people of Illinois! In September we received information from the IRS that they had granted us the waiver of penalties. What could have been a HUGE liability to the Village of Bartonville was recuded by $528.oo! I can’t thank you enough! We couldn’t have done this without your help! Thank you, Congresswoman Bustos.”

Leon Ricca, Mayor of Bartonville, IL

Jody M. Day - Moline, IL - 11/08/2017

“The Staff and Congresswoman Cheri Bustos were amazing. Absolutely went above and beyond to help me. I am forever grateful. My son was graduation from Army Boot Camp at Ft. Jackson, South Carolina on Sept. 7, 2018. Every family needed passes to be on base, also needing a background check to obtain that. I have a 7 year old felony (a minor charge). I was denied a pass of course. After numerous phone calls and sending letters and getting nowhere, I went to Cheri Bustos’ office. Staff was so sweet and respectful and went right to work with Ms. Bustos to help me! I am forever grateful to our Congresswoman for making it happen. The Garrison Commander at Ft. Jackson was happy to help Ms. Bustos!”

Jody M. Day, Moline

Jeff Brooks - Pekin, IL - 03/07/2016

“My son, Noah Brooks, will soon graduate from Pekin Community High School. His desire has been to work hard, earn his Eagle Scout rank, do well in school, and serve in a branch of the Armed Forces after high school. When my son was once rejected for a prior muscle injury by the IL Air Guard, and again by the Navy, I contacted Congresswoman Bustos’ office. We knew that we would need assistance convincing more senior military staff to look more closely at his case and the newest doctor reports that cleared him for all activities. Bustos’ office went immediately to work contacting the Air Guard and Navy on his behalf. I believe her inquiries helped draw attention to his case and he ultimately passed subsequent examinations and was sworn in in February.”

Jeff Brooks, Pekin

Viola Ratajczak - Sterling, IL - 10/10/2017

“Congresswoman Bustos’ office helped our family to have closure of the life of our dearly departed brother, Cpl.. Thomas Ciskitti, a MIA of the Korean War. Efforts in the past have resulted ‘that the records had been destroyed in a fire’ at the Department of the Army. They were able to get an official who found not only the records but also that it included witness statements of that fateful day of November 28,1950 near Yong-Su-Dong. We are so ever grateful and thankful of the efforts put forth. To know Tommy was to love him. A young man that loved life, his family and his country that he served not only int he Navy for two years but upon honorable discharge chose to enlist in the U.S. Army.”

Viola Ratajczek, Sterling

Ajay Selwal - Rockford, IL - 10/24/2018

“Hearty thanks for your efforts for my citizenship. I sent email to your office for my citizenship case with USCIS as it was delaying and staff, called USCIS and then called me right after my request and I am grateful for your efforts and help. Your staff members are amazing and they always updated me for progress of my case. I would give credit to Cheri Bustos and all staff members. I wish you all the best and thanks again for your kind help.”

Ajay Selwal, Rockford

Wesley Greenwood - Milan, IL. - 05/02/2015

“I was applying to the VA for assistance with dental, eye, and medicine costs. As I was told I didn’t qualify, I asked Cheri Bustos for assistance. Afterall, I served in the army, including 10 months in Korea and feel I deserved assistance. Cheri Bustos and her staff were great to work with and their diligence resulted in getting records from VA (I had them and they were destroyed in a fire.) I appreciate the efforts made by Cheri Bustos and her office.”

Wesley Greenwood, Milan

Mark Highland - Davis, IL. - 03/28/2016

“Thank you and your staff for helping me replace my father’s medals from his service in WWII. You and your staff are a credit to the people in your district.”

Mark Highland, Davis

Jackie Christopher - Rock Island, IL. - 03/20/2016

“My social security benefits were held up from October 2015 until March 2016. Even after numerous meetings with the agency, no action was taken on any issues. After contacting Cheri Bustos’ office, it took two intercessions by her office with great results. I am now receiving my social security benefits and received back pay from October to February. Thanks so much! I feel it still would not be resolved without your assistance.”

Jackie Christopher, Rock Island

Alan Massie - Milan, IL. - 03/07/2016

“I needed assistance in buying health insurance through the government marketplace and I asked Cheri Bustos for help. With her assistance, I was able to purchase health insurance with an effective date of Jan. 1, 2016. Her staff was prompt and very helpful.”

Alan Massie, Milan

Rudolph Rasso - Silvis, IL. - 02/29/2016

“I learned the hard way that working with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) could be a literal nightmare. As executor of my brother’s estate, I had submitted his professionally-prepared tax documents so that his remaining assets could be distributed as his will directed. Soon after I sent his taxes to the IRS, I was notified that a death certificate was necessary, so that was sent without delay. And then, we waited and waited and waited some more for the modest refund to arrive. After eight months and four visits to the Davenport IRS office (requiring several hours of waiting for service) the situation still wasn’t resolved. In desperation, we sought the help of Congresswoman Cheri Bustos. Immediately after calling Ms. Bustos’ Rock Island office, we were contacted by staff member Tiana McCall. Within the week, she was able to determine the source of the problem and assisted us with its resolution. She continued to follow through until the long-anticipated refund check was at last received. The response on the part of Ms. McCall was professional, prompt, and in my opinion, absolutely impressive, given the prolonged runaround that my wife and I previously endured with the IRS. We now know that Congresswoman Cheri Bustos’ office is the place to START if we experience any federally-related problems again, particularly those involving tax matters. It’s nice to know that someone out there really ‘has your back.’ Thank you, Congresswoman Bustos.”

Rudolph Rasso, Silvis

Clarence DeLoach - Moline, IL. - 02/19/2016

“For two years I have been getting appointments with the V.A. hospital way beyond the 30 days acceptable for vets. I received a Veterans’ Choice Card back in 2014 and again in September 2015. They told me I was eligible, but kept delaying appointments to my doctor of choice. So I went to Congresswoman Cheri Bustos’ office and talked to her Veteran’s Advocate. She assured me she would look into the matter ASAP. Within a week the VA Hospital called me and helped me get an appointment with the doctor of my choice. They uploaded all the medical info to the Choice program appointment people. Two days later, Josh, the Choice Champ for the V.A. hospital in Iowa City called me and let me know there was a congressional investigation into this matter, and we were only waiting for Choice to make the appointment, and if they did not call me with an appointment to let him know by the end of week. I called Josh and he made some calls for me and by the end of the day he had the appointment confirmed. In my opinion this would not have happened without Congresswoman Cheri Bustos’ Veterans Advocate!”

Clarence DeLoach from Moline