To Mark the 4th of July, Congresswoman Bustos Reintroduces her Bipartisan All-American Flag Act

Bustos has led effort to require all American flags purchased by the Department of Defense be made in America, but continues her push to expand this to the entire federal government

WASHINGTON – Today, Congresswoman Cheri Bustos (IL-17) reintroduced her All-American Flag Act. If signed into law, the bill would require the federal government to only purchase flags that are 100 percent made in America. While serving in the minority, Congresswoman Bustos has successfully included provisions from this legislation in the annual Defense Appropriation bills to require the Department of Defense, one of the largest purchasers of American flags, to only purchase American-made flags.

“When a veteran expressed his concern to me about American flags made overseas, I worked across the aisle to require the Defense Department to buy American-made flags,” Congresswoman Bustos said. “I hear time and again that our veterans are disappointed that tax dollars are buying American flags made in countries like China. As we head into this Fourth of July week, I’m proud to honor our veterans by introducing this bipartisan bill to ensure all American flags purchased with federal tax dollars are made here in America.”

The All-American Flag Act would require the federal government to only purchase flags that contain 100 percent American-made materials entirely manufactured in the U.S. Current law requires the federal government to purchase flags made of only 50 percent American-made materials. According to the U.S. Department of Commerce and U.S. Census Data, in 2015 the dollar value of U.S. imports of American flags was $4.4 million. Of that amount, $4 million of imported flags came from China.

In 2013, Bustos started her fight for American-made flags by introducing an amendment – which passed the House with bipartisan support – to the FY 2014 Defense Appropriations Act that mandated that American flags purchased by the federal government using funds from these bills be made in America. In 2014, a similar provision was included in the FY 2015 Defense Department Appropriations Act and each subsequent Fiscal Year appropriations bill.

Joining Congresswoman Bustos as original cosponsors are Representatives Jim McGovern (MA-02), Steve Pearce (NM-02), Joe Courtney (CT-02), Luke Messer (IN-06). Lisa Blunt-Rochester (DE-AL), Jacky Rosen (NV-03), Krysten Sinema (AZ-09), Jimmy Panetta (CA-20), Scott Peters (CA-52), Dwight Evans (PA-02), Grace Meng (NY-06), Steve Cohen (TN-09), Julia Brownley (CA-26), Lois Frankel (FL-21), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Ami Bera (CA-07), Joyce Beatty (OH-03), Dan Kildee (MI-05), Katherine Clark (MA-05), Sanford Bishop (GA-02), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D.C.), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), Annie Kuster (NH-02), Darren Soto (FL-09), Charlie Crist (FL-13), G.K. Butterfield (NC-01), Colleen Hanabusa (HI-01), Mike Thompson (CA-05), Tim Walz (MN-01), Bill Foster (IL-11), Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18), Andre Carson (IN-07), Seth Moulton (MA-06) and Derek Kilmer (WA-06).